Campaign Planning Committee Report

Members Present: Marcie Stefan, Rosalie Bandyopadhyay, Dottie Faisby, Alex Chaves, Luis Garcia, Cynthia Chestnut

Minutes 2/22/18:

  • Forum tonight: questions are ready, forum will be live-streamed.
  • Lee’s proposal: we need to get people out to vote – it is necessary to bridge gaps between whites/blacks, liberals/conservatives
    •  Reaching the countryside. If the festival works, we can proceed to expand to Palatka, Alachua, and Starke as well.
    • Yoho gets money from the NRA. Let’s play this to our advantage.
    • Speeches will be light. The idea is to have fun with music and performances, family-oriented, fun games for kids.
    • All the politicians said they would come. They will each speak for 5 minutes (again, the idea is to have fun and keep it light).
    • Lee is asking for funding from the DEC. He is asking for a $500 contribution, it is mostly for advertising (not so much the event itself).
    • Still discussing date and length.


Alachua County Disabilities Caucus Report, April 2018

Bill Rettinger, President of the Florida Disabilities Caucus, passed away last month. Bill’s first Vice-President has resigned his office, leaving Fred Pratt, the second Vice President, as acting President of the state caucus until a planned election held in Orlando in June.

Fred has said he would like to attend the convention in June, but has no means of transportation. Having been bed-ridden for over a year Fred would require special care to travel. If anyone can help fulfill his wish please call Fred at 352 214-8472 or Anna Angell at 352 665-3947.

February, 2018 Steering Committee Meeting

Chair Cynthia Moore Chestnut called the meeting to order at 6:01 PM, Tuesday 6 March 2018, at the DEC Office, Gainesville, Florida.  She observed that Ermon Owens, Chair of the Alachua County Black Caucus died recently at Newnans Lake, and she called for a moment of silence in his memory.


Members Present: Chanae Baker, Jo Beaty, Sheryl Eddie (replacing Melvin Flournoy who has left the SC), Cynthia Chestnut, Terry Fleming, Mark Goldstein, Barbara McDade-Gordon, Horace Moore, Richard Powell, Marcie Stefan de Alvardo, James Thompson.  Member Absent: Kameela Spence.  Committee Chair Present: Iris Burke.  Others Present: Jake Gordon, Armondo Grundy.

March, 2018 General Membership Meeting

Chair Cynthia Moore Chestnut called the meting to order at 7:04 PM, Wednesday, 14 March 2018 in the Hall of Heroes, GPD, Gainesville, Florida.


Chair Chestnut led members in the Pledge to the Flag followed by a moment of silence in memory of Ermon Owens, President of the Alachua County Black Caucus, and the 17 teachers and faculty members slaughtered at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, FL one month ago today.